Oshino Shinobu loves donuts

Oshino Shinobu

This week’s figure review features Kotobukiya’s 1/8 Oshino Shinobu!


I became an instant fan of the Monogatari Series after the first episode of Bakemonogatari aired. I’ve always considered Monogatari Series epitome of SHAFT anime… also probably because it really suits Nisioisin’s writing style. While Shinobu didn’t necessarily have a big role in the first half Bakemonogatari I loved her character design. After the ONAs aired I knew she was my favorite girl (being voiced by Maaya Sakamoto voice is a plus)

Oshino Shinobu

Oshino Shinobu

Oshino Shinobu

This figure is based on her outfit from Nisemonogatari/the second season. I miss her helmet but this outfit is pretty cute too! I used to not be a big fan of Kotobukiya’s figures and their first few Monogatari figures seemed pretty plain compared to Good Smile Company’s. However Kotobukiya’s been stepping up their game recently with posing and painting. Maybe it’s just me but it seems that they’ve been getting better at making “moe” figures. I was really excited when they revealed the prototype of this Shinobu figure.

I knew from experience (how many attempts to get Kobato and Kuroneko…) that preorders would close fast so she’s definitely one of the few figures I preordered immediately after it was added to AmiAmi’s site.

Who could resist that pose and that expression? And of course what Shinobu figure isn’t complete without donuts!

Oshino Shinobu

The base made me laugh because it’s a silhouette of Araragi. Y’know, because Shinobu lives in Araragi’s shadow hahaha…

Oshino Shinobu

I love the little details such as her bracelet (which isn’t molded onto the figure so it falls naturally like a real bracelet!) and her little donut box. I’m probably not doing it correctly but I had a hard time getting the donut box to stay in her hand.

Oshino Shinobu

I like the little details such as the ribbon on her hat.

Oshino Shinobu

…as well as the ruffles on her skirt! Although I think it could’ve been more ruffly but at least there’s folds in the clothing.

Oshino Shinobu

I also like how her donut has texture on it rather than a smooth ring. I wonder why they didn’t include a “pon de ring” donut but I’m guessing it’s because they’re a trademark of Mister Donut…

Oshino Shinobu

Her hat is removable! I also like that it’s magnetic so I won’t have to worry about accidentally knocking it off.

Oshino Shinobu

She also comes with a grumpy/smug face but I’m probably just gonna stick to the smiling one.

I’m a little disappointed because Kotobukiya released another version (exclusive to their online store) that has 2 new faces, a chocolate donut, and a donut base. I personally prefer the donut base and the closed eye expression over the grumpy one… but I’m still pretty happy.

Oshino Shinobu

Now I just need Kizumonogatari to finally be released so I can have Kissshot figures.

Thanks for reading~ tune in next week for a figure or artbook review!

4 thoughts on “Oshino Shinobu loves donuts

  1. Miette-chan says:

    Shinobu is the cutest, Shinobu is the best.

    I actually didn’t care for her at first when I watched Bakemonogatari, I couldn’t understand why everybody liked her so much.

    Then I watched Nisemonogatari and she spoke, oh boy! I just love that haughty attitude of her and all the teasing she does.

    Right now Koto’s version is my favorite, they just managed to capture everything I love about Shinobu. Although, now that Alter showed off theirs it might give this version a run for its money.

Leave a Reply

