1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

Continuation of my post from last week! I’m helping out a friend with her photography project! She’s taking photos of anime figures so I’ve been letting her borrow some of my figures.

Last time I posted the photos of Madoka so this week I’ll post the photos of Asuka!

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

So apparently it’s been about 4-5 years since Evangelion 2.0 You Can (Not) Advance premiered in Japan… It’s hard to believe since 3.0 didn’t get released in the US until last year.

I think 2.0 is still my favorite movie of the Rebuild franchise (we’ll see what happens when 4.0 gets released) and 1.0 is a close second! Obviously the Evangelion series has been around for many years now and they’ve been making Asuka and Rei figures long before I began figure collecting. However, I think the movies got some other companies besides Kotobukiya to start producing figures of their own (gotta get in on that Eva cash cow).

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

This Asuka is literally one of the only Evangelion figures I own. I’m a little picky when it comes to figures so I tried not to buy any Rei/Asuka figures until I was very satisfied with the quality. One day ALTER opens up a preorder for this Asuka and it caught everyone off guard. Before then ALTER didn’t release any prototype images or announced they would be making her. Needless to say I was really happy with the sculpt and ATLER always has excellent quality control so I preordered her.

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

ALTER’s Asuka is a beautifully sculpted and painted figure. Movie watchers will immediately recognize the test plugsuit that was featured in the 2.0 movie. ALTER faithfully painted and sculpted her plugsuit to look similar to the anime. The rocks and rusted iron are also a nice touch.

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

ALTER also made a Rei figure to go with the movies but I didn’t realize it until they discontinued the re-release.

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

I wonder if ALTER plans to make a Mari figure? Or another Rei figure? I know they recently made another Asuka figure based on her 3.0 outfit which looks really nice! (I kind of regret not preordering her) Hopefully this means ALTER hasn’t stopped making Evangelion figures at least.

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami
Adding some light effects in photoshop worked well with Madoka so I decided to play around with them again. I really like the effect they give so I might be doing this with more of my figure photos from now on!

1/8 Asuka Langley Shikinami

Look at that… plugsuit…

Thanks for reading! Hopefully I’ll have some more figures to review next week so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

