1/8 Araragi Tsukihi

Araragi Tsukihi

Welcome back to another figure review! This week we will be taking a look at Good Smile Company’s Araragi Tsukihi.

I’m Platinum Excited.

Araragi Tsukihi

Tsukihi is the other half of the fire sisters! I’m glad to finally see a figure of her after GSC released Karen earlier. (I did a review of Karen’s figure a few posts ago if you’re interested in reading) I love Watanabe’s artwork for the Monogatari series. I was really blown away by his illustration of Tsukihi for the volume 4 Nisemonogatari Blu-ray, and I was even more excited when I heard GSC would be making a figure based off his illustration.

Araragi Tsukihi

Tsukihi is leaning against a SHAFT-esque jungle gym and wearing her trademark yukata. I’m also glad they stuck with the hairstyle she had in Nisemonogatari. A bit of a side note but in the novels it’s stated that Tsukihi is constantly changing her hairstyles to go along with her mood (but you’ve probably already figured that out from the Platinum Disco opening).

The figure also features some traditional fox masks dangling from the jungle gym. Tsukihi herself is wearing one of the masks around her head… along with the pinwheel, the atmosphere of this figure kind of reminds me of a matsuri/festival.

Araragi Tsukihi

I love the color and print of her yukata. It features some chrysanthemum (?) flowers as well as a red phoenix! Very fitting for Tsukihi since her main arc is titled ‘Tsukihi Phoenix’. However if you liked the turquoise yukata she wore in the anime GSC released an alternative version of the figure.

Araragi Tsukihi

The production quality of this figure is quite good. The painting is smooth and I haven’t come across and noticeable blotches. The seam-lines seemed to have been minimized.

Araragi Tsukihi

The details on the mask seem to have also been carefully painted.

Araragi Tsukihi

Tsukihi is literally hanging onto the base. However she does come with a peg for her dangling leg for extra support and to prevent leaning. I didn’t included it in the photos for obvious reasons. Probably my only concern with this figure is the jungle gym. It felt so light and delicate that I was scared it might break any moment. I was also scared it might snap from the weight of Tsukihi dangling from it.

Araragi Tsukihi

And last but not least the base: I like how the it’s shaped like her egg hairpin!

Araragi Tsukihi

Watanabe’s art definitely looks nice in 3D form.

That’s my review for Tsukihi! Thanks again for reading. As for the next figure review I’m kind of having fun looking at my Monogatari Series figures so I might continue the trend. I’ve got ALTER’s Black Hanekawa that I’m dying to finally take out of her box. Come by again next time!

9 thoughts on “1/8 Araragi Tsukihi

  1. wieselhead says:

    She’s a great figure that I have received this year ^^
    She looks so beautiful with her Yukata and the detailed face, I can’t really put in into words but her expression is so adorable I could look at her for hours 😀 She’s just stunning on this unique designed base. I also feared about possible damage, but it’s rather durable when you pull no stunts with it.

    My figure seems to have a problem with her grabbing hand now, I hope I can fix this in a decent way.

    nice pictures of Tsukihi ^-^

    • Stereometric says:

      Same here! There’s something really pretty about her face and I couldn’t help but take 109823803 photos of it.

      Oh no! Hopefully it’ll be a simple fix. After hooking up the jungle gym to the base it seemed a bit sturdier… hopefully it holds up.

      Thank you for stopping by!

  2. Balance says:

    It’s a shame that I missed this. It was one of the few that I really considered getting. Oh well. I can always appreciate pictures like yours in the mean time. Great shots! Can always depend on Good Smile Company on making quality scaled figures.

    • Stereometric says:

      Haha Monogatari figures are kind of an instant-buy for me.
      Don’t lose hope maybe she’ll be a rare figure that GSC does a re-release for. But thank you glad you liked the photos!

Leave a Reply

